School of Advanced Study (SAS)

Established in 1994, the school is a postgraduate institution of the University of London and the only institution in the UK that is nationally funded to promote and facilitate research in the humanities and social sciences. The School combines 10 prestigious research Institutes, many of which have long and distinguished histories, and provides a large range of specialist research services, facilities and resources. These institutes are:

  • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
  • Institute of Classical Studies
  • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
  • Institute of English Studies
  • Institute of Germanic & Romance Studies
  • Institute of Historical Research
  • Institute of Musical Research
  • Institute of Philosophy
  • Institute for the Study of the Americas
  • Warburg Institute

School of advanced studies, University of London homepage: