Ian has a room for rent - RoomMatesUK.com

About Room
North London
Islington N1 5TQ 4 Balmes Road
232 £ per week
1.063 GBP
En-suite

2020 - November - 14
Med. term: 4-12 months
1
2

Old Street
Zone 1 (most central)
2
  • Near the river
  • Green areas
  • Grocery store
Yes

Description:

A lovely, two bedroom two bathroom flat on the 10th floor in De Beauvoir. Right next to Rosemary Gardens, Shoreditch Park and Regents Canal. The flat has great views over the city and the Canal.

Images 1-3: the bedroom
Images 4-5: the en-suite
Images 6-8: the living room and kitchen
Images: 9-10: prospective housemate (cute dog sadly not mine)

Description:
The double room is light and airy and comes furnished with double bed, wardrobe, bedside tables and a chest of drawers and its own en-suite bathroom. The room has a double doored Juliette balcony with impressive views. Overall, the flat is quite large for London with an open plan kitchen and dining/living room. The flat has a newly renovated kitchen with fairly new appliances including a microwave, fridge, freezer, induction stove, oven, dishwasher and combined washing machine and dryer. In the living room I have a new 55" OLED TV and decent surround sound system. The place also has fantastic internet with gigabit fibre from Hyperoptic.

Location:
That flat is approximately 10-15 minutes walk to Haggerston Overground and 15-20 minutes walk to Old Street Underground. There is a bus stop on the corner with a number of convenient lines to key places and stations around this part of London and a very handy Tesco on the corner as well. The flat is also walking-distance into the city (as I plan to walk to work once we return to the office).

About me:
I'm a 31 year old gay male lawyer originally from Melbourne, Australia now working at a corporate law firm in London in the Information Technology/Intellectual Property team. I often work fairly long hours, but am friendly and sociable and usually up for a wine and a chat whenever I'm not working. I spend my free time travelling, drinking/catching up with friends, watching trashy television shows and online shopping.

Who I'm looking for:
A young professional who's neat and tidy (but not a clean freak), friendly and up for a chat and possibly a glass of wine now and then (basically someone who's normal). Extra points if you enjoy talking about nerdy technology things and/or RuPaul's Drag Race :). Straight males welcome (I've lived with numerous straight male housemates before and it's never been awkward). Looking for a single tenant only (no couples).

Availability:
The flat is available ASAP. My housemate is sadly having to move overseas for work imminently, so I'm looking to find a replacement as soon as possible. The new tenant would be added to the lease (currently expiring 7 August 2021, but likely able to be renewed) and so acceptance and move in date would be subject to the agent completing reference/credit checks and signing the lease variation.

Cost:
Rent is £1000 paid in advance each month. The bond is split 50-50, so your share would be 1062.50. Bills are in addition to rent and would be split 50-50 - they include: council tax, electricity, water, broadband, TV licence, contents insurance and a cleaner every 2/3 weeks. Based on my previous experience 50% of the bills usually totals around £150-£200 per month.

Usually easiest to get in touch with me via email. Look forward to hearing from you.


Show apartments nearby
31yo
Male
Professional
English
Photography, Theater, Movies, Travelling, Computers and internet
Not specified
I am a Aries

Apr 01 - May 12

My horoscope matches:
Leo
Sagittarius
Gemini
Aquarius
Virgo
Scorpio

Read from our blog

Tips for splitting flatshare bills

How to split the bills with your flatmates, and survive. If you're moving in to a shared apartment in the UK, or if you're still searching to find flatmates in London as a way to save costs, then these tips will help you figure out how to optimize the sharing of the…

The perfect housemate - landorders' preferences

The ingredients of a perfect housemate profile. A survey of over 2000 UK property owners is seeking to find out what qualities live-in landlords are looking for in their ideal roommates. The survey shows that a quarter of landlords show a preference to sharing a house with someone working in the medical profession,…

Expats in London - The best free tools to move to the UK

Moving to the UK? Looking to meet up with other expats in London? This bundle of free useful tools is for you! Whether you wish to live in the UK or you have already settled here in pursuit of your dreams and career development, you may have lots of question about your expat project. Talking…
			Array
(
    [total] => Array
        (
            [0] => 0.1131
            [total_time] => 0.1131
        )

)