Philip has a room for rent - RoomMatesUK.com

About Room
South East London
East Dulwich SE5 8AY Champion Hill
145 £ per week
700 GBP
En-suite

2021 - January - 15
Long term: 12+ months, Med. term: 4-12 months, Monthly: 1-4 months
3
2

Clapham High Street
Zone 2
4
  • Green areas
  • Pastime locations (restaturants, coffee shops, clubs, etc.)
  • Grocery store
Yes

Description:

Good size double bedroom with own bathroom in shared 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, ground floor flat with private garden.

Flexible Tenancy start date from 11th January 2021 onwards.

Transport connections:

Trains:

Denmark Hill station: an 8 min walk offering London Overground (Orange) Line, Thameslink and mainline trains with direct services to:

Clapham High Street & Clapham North: 5 mins
Elephant and Castle: 6 mins
Victoria Station: 10 mins
Blackfriars: 11 Mins
Clapham Junction 14 mins
City Thameslink: 15 mins
Canada Water: 16 mins
Farringdon: 16 mins
King's Cross/St. Pancras: 20 mins
London Bridge: 20 mins
Shoreditch High Street: 22 mins
Kensington: 30 mins
Highbury & Islington: 36 mins

East Dulwich Station: a 5 mins walk, offering direct services to:

London Bridge: just 15 mins (via Peckham and Bermondsey).
Southbound routes to Croydon, Crystal Palace etc.

Buses:

A 4 mins walk to main bus routes: 40, 42, 68, N68, 176, 185, 468, 484, including services to:

Brixton: 12 mins
Clapham High St: c20 mins if not using Overground (which is only a c5mins journey)
Oval: 20 mins
Vauxhall: 22 mins
Southbank & Central London: 30 min

The Room:

The available room (room #1 on the floor plan) has neutral decor, includes 5' x 6'6" English king-size double bed, 1x built-in and 1x freestanding wardrobe, chest of drawers. The room looks out to the rear of the property across the garden and woodland beyond.

The Flat:

The flat was entirely refurbed in 2013 with neutral decor throughout and has a bright and contemporary but still homely feel. This room will be being redecorated and recarpeted prior to letting and the remainder of the flat may also be receiving a refresh prior to the tenancy start date.

All the rooms have good-sized windows. The flat has hardwood flooring in the hallway and living room while the kitchen and bathrooms are tiled and the bedrooms are carpeted.

To the rear, the flat looks out onto natural woodland, with the living room leading out to a private garden with a lawn and patio, great for Summer drinks and bbq. A gate leads out into the woodland and to Sainsbury's just beyond.

Residents car parking permit can be arranged free of charge for any tenant with a car.

Ideal sharers:

Ideally, but not exclusively, looking for a clean and tidy, gay/gay-friendly male to share the flat.

Professionals with normal regular hours generally preferred but not absolutely essential.

Friendly, socially well-adjusted, relaxed people who value having a home, somewhere nice to live and are willing to help keep it that way, rather than just a room to drop a suitcase and sleep in.

Potential smokers could use the garden, but as per terms of tenancy, no smoking inside the flat.

Household Services:

Hyperoptic Superfast Fibre 500Mbps internet (upgradeable to 1Gbps)
55" HD Smart TV, Apple TV, Netflix, Prime Video
Dishwasher
Washing Machine
Large Fridge/Freezer
Tassimo Coffee Maker

Costs/Bills:

Total household bills are additional to the rent and come to roughly c£100-110 per person per month, covering:

Energy (Gas & Elec) £31 pcm each
Council Tax c£45 pcm each
Hyperoptic Broadband £13 pcm each
Thames Water £14 pcm each
TV Licence £4 pcm each
TV Subs, Netflix/Prime etc (as we currently use internet tv, not cable or satellite) £6-7 pcm each

We also have an excellent cleaner called 'Teddy' to help keep the place clean. She usually comes every couple of weeks (£37.50 for 3 hours, i. e. £12.50 per person per fortnight).

The local area:

Located in a very peaceful leafy area, just near the Kings College Halls of Residence on the border of Camberwell and East Dulwich. The property is a privately-owned flat in a 1950s low-rise, brick-built, mixed privately owned and local authority block.

The area is friendly and safe at night. Been here five years and it's always been very quiet, rarely much noise, no people hanging around or problems when coming or going late at night. Our neighbours on both sides are very friendly and helpful, happily holding post for us and vice versa when required.

Local Amenities:

Sainsbury's Superstore with Starbucks cafe: 1 min walk (open til midnight every night!)
Lordship Lane: Higher quality Shops, Restaurants, Cafes, Pubs etc. 10 mins walk
Camberwell Green: More mainstream shopping area & the popular Love Walk Cafe (great for Sunday brunch): 10 mins walk
Ruskin Park: 4 mins walk. A very popular park with elevated views across London. Has bookable tennis courts, outdoor gym, wide-open grassy space, wooded parkland, a rose garden, pond and even a bandstand with a brass band playing in summer!
Kings College Hospital: 5 mins walk - particularly handy for any doctors, nurses, medical students or hospital workers!


Show apartments nearby
41yo
Male
Professional
English
Fitness & jogging, Photography, Movies, Travelling, Cooking, Computers and internet
Yes
I am a Taurus

May 12 - Jun 21

My horoscope matches:
Virgo
Capricorn
Cancer
Pisces
Libra
Sagittarius

Read from our blog

Tips for splitting flatshare bills

How to split the bills with your flatmates, and survive. If you're moving in to a shared apartment in the UK, or if you're still searching to find flatmates in London as a way to save costs, then these tips will help you figure out how to optimize the sharing of the…

The perfect housemate - landorders' preferences

The ingredients of a perfect housemate profile. A survey of over 2000 UK property owners is seeking to find out what qualities live-in landlords are looking for in their ideal roommates. The survey shows that a quarter of landlords show a preference to sharing a house with someone working in the medical profession,…

Expats in London - The best free tools to move to the UK

Moving to the UK? Looking to meet up with other expats in London? This bundle of free useful tools is for you! Whether you wish to live in the UK or you have already settled here in pursuit of your dreams and career development, you may have lots of question about your expat project. Talking…
			Array
(
    [total] => Array
        (
            [0] => 0.1656
            [total_time] => 0.1656
        )

)