Rosemarie has a room for rent - RoomMatesUK.com

About Room
South West London
Balham SW12 9HQ 195 Bedford Hill
157 £ per week
900 GBP
Double/Twin

2020 - December - 01
Long term: 12+ months, Med. term: 4-12 months
3
2

Balham
Zone 3
1
  • Green areas
  • Pastime locations (restaturants, coffee shops, clubs, etc.)
  • Grocery store
  • Fitness center
  • Swimming pool
Yes

Description:

Hi I’m Rosie, 35 and a child clinical psychologist working for the NHS. Our housemate is moving out of London so sadly we are looking for a new housemate to move in. I have lived here for coming up to 6 years and adore living in Balham. We are extremely flexible on moving dates (any time in next 3 months), and our landlord is very friendly and helpful, but also happy to just basically leave us be. He has never raised the rent and is quick to replace broken appliances. We also have a housing manager who ensures that any repairs are done quickly.

Some of the photos in this ad were taken before we moved in so we’ve updated the house a bit since then (no more curtain pelmets haha) and the garden no longer has the 2 large trees so we can put a table and chairs out. But they show the space well, showing it’s potential. We are always happy for people to bring new furniture and ideas of how to make our home comfortable for us all. At present I’m hunting for a second sofa in the hope that we can resume our wine and movie nights again soon!

It’s a lovely house on just off fonternoy road in Balham, 10 minutes walk from the train (direct to Clapham junction, Victoria, Kensington, Shepard’s bush, Wembley, Watford and Milton Keynes) and tube station (the northern line with an easy change at Stockwell for the Victoria line. Balham underground station is open 24hrs a day). About 1 minute walk to the bus stop too, which gets you to Balham station in around 3 minutes. There is a Medical centre, pharmacy, post box, gym with pool, and small local shops, cafes and takeaways all about a 5minutes walk away which is excellent and the bus goes directly to the town centre and the large local Aldi, Sainsbury’s and Waitrose for all your grocery needs.

We are tucked away off a main road so it’s nice and quiet and we have lovely friendly neighbours. Tooting Bec common is also less than 5minutes walk away with its lido, lake, tennis courts and grassy goodness. Additionally, we are also fortunate enough to have a large sunny garden which is south facing and thus perfect for lazy brunches and weekend chilling. It’s looking a bit wild at the moment, so keen gardeners welcome! We have one parking space directly out side the front door and a parking permit.

The room is a standard double bedroom for £625 a month. Bills work out to about £79 a month each including internet and council tax. Our current housemate is taking their furniture with them so there will be room if you have some furniture of your own but there is a standard double divan bed and some shelving. Our landlord is very friendly and allows us to paint walls and hang pictures etc.

Upstairs has the 3 bedrooms and a bathroom with a bath/shower plus space for storage up in the loft. Downstairs has a 2nd toilet, space for storage under the stairs, a large fully fitted kitchen with loads of cupboard space and a dining table, and a huge lounge with full length patio windows overlooking the garden. At present the lounge is currently split between a social area with sofa, tv and book cases etc and my home office (aka the dining room table). We are very flexible with how the lounge is used and over the years it has held a yoga space, a home gym, a larger table for dinner parties, etc etc

I look after the lovely womble, a black female cat, who is elderly and likes her own company but is happiest when she can flop around near people. She doesn’t scratch furniture, jump on kitchen surfaces, or frequently throw up, and you can shut bedroom doors if you’d rather not have her snoozing on your bed, but she’s an easy going soul. She has full run of my room and the downstairs and is very much a member of the family.

I myself am also easy going and a bit geeky. I enjoy spending evenings chatting with housemates but I’m currently recovering from hip surgery so more sitting and less dancing at the moment! I love going to to the theatre, dabbling in arts & crafts, curling up on the sofa with a good book or film and geeking out with my friends.

The other housemate staying is Lucy, 30, a marketing manager who enjoys going for walks, socialising with friends, Netflix marathons and cooking. We are a quieter house, because we all work hard during the week we prefer to party at local pubs or in central, keeping our home a bit more peaceful. We all try to tidy up after ourselves and are respectful of each other’s space whilst enjoying socialising together in the lounge.

We know house hunting during a pandemic is hard so please say if there’s anything that would be helpful. We will of course wear masks and have windows open during visits. Hand sanitizer will also be made available.

Everyone is welcome here, please get in touch if this sounds like the kind of home you are looking for.

Rosie


Show apartments nearby
35yo
Female
Professional
English
Fitness & jogging, Yoga, meditation, Arts, Photography, Pets, Theater, Movies, Cooking
Not specified
I am a Libra

Dec 01 - Oct 02

My horoscope matches:
Gemini
Aquarius
Leo
Sagittarius
Taurus
Pisces

Read from our blog

Tips for splitting flatshare bills

How to split the bills with your flatmates, and survive. If you're moving in to a shared apartment in the UK, or if you're still searching to find flatmates in London as a way to save costs, then these tips will help you figure out how to optimize the sharing of the…

The perfect housemate - landorders' preferences

The ingredients of a perfect housemate profile. A survey of over 2000 UK property owners is seeking to find out what qualities live-in landlords are looking for in their ideal roommates. The survey shows that a quarter of landlords show a preference to sharing a house with someone working in the medical profession,…

Expats in London - The best free tools to move to the UK

Moving to the UK? Looking to meet up with other expats in London? This bundle of free useful tools is for you! Whether you wish to live in the UK or you have already settled here in pursuit of your dreams and career development, you may have lots of question about your expat project. Talking…
			Array
(
    [total] => Array
        (
            [0] => 0.1351
            [total_time] => 0.1351
        )

)